no shame

As my summer expat migration back home comes to a close, I’ve had to start thinking about life back in the PRC…and what to bring back. I’m not afraid to say that I have ZIP-ZERO-ZILCH shame when it comes to importing my own food back to China. An entire suitcase. I’m sure the people checking my bag will look at me like a total freak (maybe they’ll get it?). ย Either way, it’s no matter. I’ve tried to consider what would be easiest to pack and beneficial to us back in China. I’ve settled on a number of dry goods ranging from coffee, powdered creamer, granola, spice packets for sauces/chili and out of sheer desperation for a few fav ingredients I’ve even packed some artichoke hearts and roasted red peppers in glass jars (see whyย here).

I purchased bubble wrap and went to town making sure the lids have little chance for breaking during the flight.

I also took anything I could out of cardboard boxes and packed those into Ziplock bags. I cut out the cooking directions and the names of each item like a champ (or a lunatic…you can decide).

Moment of truth…testing the weight. We clocked in at 46lbs! Under the limit by 4lbs…I’m ready!

IMG_0894

7 thoughts on “no shame

  1. forget about anything that can contain water, even in the jar – they will take it out, it’s forbidden and China is very strickt about this. beside they have enough imported food there anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Not true about food that contained liquid. I did the same and no trouble! China’s imported food is at insane prices and so NOT the same quality! Franny – I checked two 50lbs bags! No shame club. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I wondered if everything would make it through and it did – thankfully. I managed to get some artichokes, roasted red peppers and maple syrup in ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I probably just got lucky when I walked out of the airport because they didn’t ask to search my bags in customs- whew!

    • keep my fingers for same luck in future ๐Ÿ™‚ what I’ve seen they argued because people didn’t want to throw away their snacks, I don’t know if in the end they threw cause my husband asked me to move on ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My husband and I both had an extra bag when we returned to South Korea the first time. Interestingly, we are getting ready for a second trip back home and our list of “have to haves” is much shorter. I guess we’ve just got used to living without. I also don’t have a list of foods I must eat while I’m there. Must be I’m acculturating after all. Certainly will be an easier trip and we’re bound to not gain as much weight, as well.

what do you say?

